Translating designs in my head through paint and brush in hand

15x30

15×30

Trying to capture a vision

I often see designs in my head and try to capture them on paper or canvas as I did with this work. It’s a challenge to paint intricate designs with acrylic and a paint brush… it might be better done with a fine point pen (as I did during class when I was in school). I posted this painting horizontally but it could also be hung vertical. I chose these two colors to give the painting movement. Thanks for stopping by (-:

The piece inspired by underwater world images will be in the Free Spirit Show at The Art Center in Carpinteria from June 15-July 29. Opening reception is Saturday, June 15th from 5 to 7 pm … Free Spirit was juried by Karen Browdy. The Art Center is located at 855 Linden, Carpinteria, California. I dropped off a couple of pieces for the bin (pictured here)… hopefully, they won’t be too big!

16x20

16×20 Sold

17 Comments

Filed under Acrylic, Art, art for sale, Carpinteria, design, paintings, The Art Center

17 responses to “Translating designs in my head through paint and brush in hand

  1. mesmerizing…. at first glance, I thought of a peacock… a very cool and interesting design 🙂

  2. Very cool ~ I love it! It remind me of coral.

  3. someone told me they saw a dragon in it…

  4. I actually was thinking of the underwater world when I painted it (-;

  5. Of course, I meant “reminds” me … brain is faster than fingers. It’s beautiful!

  6. Hi, thanks for sharing. I’m wondering if it’s OK to copy some of the text in my site?

  7. The first design makes the eye ‘search’ for something hidden within, and I’ve been searching for a while 😉 … all show a gifted designer at work,. xx

  8. I love these. I especially liked the bright blue and lime one! I’ve been doing some ocean art with my kids lately. Seems to be a good summertime theme.

  9. Very, very cool. I’m amazed at all the variations on a theme, and it all ties together beautifully.

  10. Birdy

    This is so good. I love painting. I myself paint. Its beautiful 🙂 keep posting such wonderful pieces of art 🙂

  11. Congrats on the recent show! I work w/pattern alot (but in a 3-D medium.) I find it a challenge also to translate smaller details with the tools at hand sometimes, but it all seems to come together, just as yours have here. Lovely pieces, Trish.

  12. Paul J. Stam

    Isn’t ideas in our head where all original work begins? I don’t know about you, but what is a “finished piece” is for me, never really finished, but I stop to go on to the next idea in my head. Thanks for liking my post, “It’s Easy To Love Mud” on papermudandme.wordpress.com. I will be following you to see more renditions of your ideas. – Aloha – pjs.

  13. Anonymous

    Congrats and Thank you

  14. Anonymous

    I don’t know much about art, but I know what I like….. And I like this!

  15. Hiya Trish! Good to be back and visitng your site again. Just love the color selections in all your paintngs! So rich, and yes, the texture of many is stunning! Sorry for being “absent” for awhile; I want tot thank you for liking some earlier posts of mine, “Bird and House”, “Nuts”, and “Mouthful”. Have a great year!

  16. WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching
    for insurance

Leave a Reply

